World of Goo soundtrack

World of Goo SoundtrackWhile I’m only a little over halfway through the WiiWare masterpiece/ artistic puzzler, World of Goo, I just found out that the entire soundtrack is available for free over at the composer’s site.

For those of you that have played it, you know that the soundtrack is one of many, many fantastic things about this game. In fact, every time I boot up World of Goo on my Wii, it’s hard not to sit there and let the fantastic opening theme play for awhile on the main menu before continuing my game.

There’s definitely a lot of Danny Elfman-inspired stuff in there, which in my book certainly isn’t a bad thing. But the soundtrack isn’t just Elfman Lite, it’s got a wonderful and unique vibe that sets it apart from pretty much any other video game soundtrack I’ve listened to.

Even if you have no interest in playing the game, I think the music’s worth a listen. And if you do decide to play the game (either on Wii or your Mac/PC), I think you’ll find that the visuals and gameplay are on par with the music. Video games are art, and World of Goo is just another step towards proving that point – so suck it, Roger Ebert!

One response to “World of Goo soundtrack

  1. I love this game!

Leave a Reply

